Farewell Brad!

I have only been blogging a short time for our website but have found it to be therapeutic and as a way to connect with other fans who share the same passion, our Colts.  On Wednesday at one of the other well known blogs, Stampede Blue, announced that long time editor & lead writer, Brad Wells was leaving and Josh Wilson was taking over those roles. Congrats to Josh and continue on what Brad has done, I’m sure you will do well.  Brad as everyone knows  or who follows or unfollows him has a big personality, but also has unique views on just about everything from sports to entertainment and  fans of Indiana (fart noise, that’s for you Brad).  He never backed down from any of his controversial takes.  I stumbled upon this website about 5 years ago and was hooked.  Brad was one of the few who was not afraid to challenge the herd mentality of  how the Colts were written about at that time.  He was not afraid to point out what was not working with the team, something a blog is able to provide.  That’s what he did for all who thought things needed to be addressed outside the traditional model of reporting.  While I don’t agree with all of his views, I respect his right to express his.  That’s something you have to learn, not everyone will agree with your views, and that’s okay.

Brad challenged you as a reader to consider maybe what you thought you knew was possibly wrong.  I don’t feel the need to defend Brad, he is able to do that himself, more eloquently than I ever could.  I look back to what he has done for those who enjoy this craft called writing.  It is very challenging to write, imagine doing this over and over again for 8 long years.  That’s a lot of blood, sweat, and tears put in, and that what I respect most. There will always be someone who will troll whatever you write.  That’s really easy, what isn’t easy is continually publishing article after article and writing what isn’t always rainbows and lollipops.  I learned much from his musings, and one of the biggest lessons was, have a strong opinion and back it up. I have strong support group here at TBF and enjoy the platform that offers me to share thoughts, insights, or whatever I write about with those who take the time to read it.

Finally, I want to say thanks to Brad for showing that you can care about your team but still be critical.  They are not mutually exclusive, in fact, they are probably more intertwined than most think.  So, I will always support my Colts, but I won’t have any issue exposing whatever is not working. Thank Brad for giving us an insight into your world with over 8,000 posts!  I hope you find success in whatever you do with your future.  Good Luck!

Brian North, Writer,

True Blue Fans

Leave a Reply

