Is The NFL’s Top 100 Of 2014 A Joke??

So the for the last couple of years the NFL Network has a Top 100 for the upcoming season.  This year was no different.  However, there was one big difference to this year’s list.  Now, what I’m about to say is very hometown (and will make me a huge homer); but it has to be said.

On this years list, Andrew Luck fell from #23 last year to #30 this year.  Normally I wouldn’t care about such things but what really got my engine running was to see the people that are ahead of him.

My first question is how in the hell does someone like Mario Williams go #29?  I get that he had a good season last year but really?  The NFL Network thinks that Mario Williams ranks higher than Luck?  I guess they have their own opinions but I feel that I’m not the only one in agreement that Mario Williams couldn’t really sniff the jock of Luck at this point.  Williams was very good in Houston but his time in Buffalo has been very lackluster.

Secondly, Cam Newton??  Really?  Yes, once again, I will say that Cam is a very good quarterback.  He is the heart and soul of the Carolina Panthers but ask yourselves this question.  If you were going to start a team from scratch, would you take Andrew Luck or Cam Newton?  Now I will be the first to say that if Newton has a Pro Bowl or All-Pro season this year then I will eat my own words and publicly apologize for these words.  However, I do not think I will be eating anything.

The first two kind of upset me when I saw this list, but these next two really got under my skin:  Dez Bryant and Antonio Brown.  “Wow” is the only word that came to my mind when I saw this.  They are two outstanding wide receivers but neither have done anything that is very spectacular.  Bryant was supposed to be the savior at wide receiver for the Cowboys and has only been a problem for this most of the time.  Brown is a quiet sleeper and I will give him that.  He isn’t talked about very much and deserves a little more credit than he receives.  However, his spot on this list should have been much further back.

Like I said, I know this makes me out to be a homer and I’m fine with that right now.  I also know that this list doesn’t mean much to anyone and it shouldn’t to me either; but I felt the need to speak out against this atrocity and unfair ranking of possibly the best young player in the NFL.  I guess once again, Luck and company are going to have to show these so called analysts what’s what- and just how good he really is.

4 responses to “Is The NFL’s Top 100 Of 2014 A Joke??

  1. Really? Antonio Brown hasn’t done anything that is very spectacular? Having 2 jerseys in the HoF isn’t very spectacular? You know, for being the only player in NFL History with 1,000 Yards Receiving and 1,000 Yards Returning in the same season (2011) and being the only player in NFL History with 5 catches and 50 yards minimum in every game of a season (2013)? Yeah, clearly Andrew Luck’s ability to get comebacks because he played piss poor for 3 quarters is spectacular.

Leave a Reply

